lonelull

shaking satisfaction in the quiet

scattered gasps inhaling to

the soft mouths of no one

finding the fine point 

of balance between two circles 

undulating at different speeds 

along my palms

when reiki and coconut milk

don’t work 

but sodium bicarbonate does 

fuck white people music

put on that Memphis rap while I 

finely slice mangos into diamonds 

on the living room floor 

push blueberries into bottles

pinch up fresh rosemary 

while words are slung seductively

about eating ‘dat perfect pussay

top it up with that bubbly tea 

let me pour you stone fruit cider 

or cultured swirling ginger beers

feeling slightly fermented while I 

stare at the window out to the alley

drunk cries of delight seep out 

from the edges of glass and drip

into the deep baseline that lulls me

even though this city doesn’t sleep 

she only blinks her eyes

for one hot second 

while the soft pink moon slips her 

hips out from the rain clouds 

and I find peace in the soft tap

of the streetcar pattering 

like a heartbeat 

peace in the hollow empty

of waking up on the couch at 

6:11 in the morning 

patience is not a common quality 

for kittens like me but when I 

slip into my soft, pillowy blankets and sheets

I find peace 

Leave a Reply

