fireline

the girl with mauve lips 

takes my hand and brings me

to the hole in the wall 

we go up 

I step back and watch 

her line of fire 

every time I go up

these stairs they

take me to another place 

night outside like a vigil 

and all these people 

fragmented, pieces of me

pull the single, red thread 

of my spirit that calls 

to wander in the pool

strange souls 

felt so clear, sinking into them

my darkness laid out bare 

wading until dawn 

scattered voices

the soft hum of instruments 

the fear of what I’d invited in

melting from anima 

there are no answers 

in the fireline

only silhouettes 

2 thoughts on “fireline

Leave a Reply

