Night walks

I like how your sly smile spreads.
And serenity drifts like lingering smoke on the porch step.
In the dead of winter, a warm wind brushing the bangs off my head.

This is my own. Secret joy.
Tiny driblets collecting in my psyche.
Raindrops on a spider’s web.
A thousand moments reflecting back at me.
I’ve been here never and before, again and again.
Every time a little different.
Every breath a moment spent.

Don’t look backwards, kid.
Not even for a second, on that bright-eyed night sky.
This time, it’s different.

Photographer Randy Halverson from South Dakota has captured stunning images of the night sky including the Milky Way, seen here

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

